Tuna Tartare with Grapefruit

I made this last weekend but didn’t get a chance to post… I walked from my house to Queen Victoria Market to see “the festival of the sea” as part of the Melbourne Food & Wine festival… (I love seafood and especially having worked with the Australian seafood industry previously) …I’m very impressed with the market!

So I bought several things here and there (veggies, fruits, tuna fillet, salmon fillet and a whole rainbow trout) as much as I can carry home!

20140314-222336.jpg

20140314-222359.jpg

I decided to give tuna tartare a go… I have always wanted to try making it.

Here is my modified recipe.

Ingredients
300 g sashimi grade tuna (this one is yellowtail), 1.5 cm diced
2 stems of springonion, sliced
1/2 bunch of coriander, leaves only, chopped
1 small knob of ginger, grated
1 Pink ruby grapefruit, 1.5 cm diced (original recipe uses pomegranate but it’s out of season now!)
A splash of olive oil
1 stem of wasabi, grated
Salt & black pepper to taste
Optional: Nori to serve

Instruction
Mix everything together… Easy!

Note: good for entree or appetiser because it’s filling! … I’d say this recipe makes 4-6 serves.

20140314-222315.jpg

Leave a Reply

